Lions, and Humans, and Witches…OH MY!

LionWardrobe12


Today I finished rereading “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe” by: C.S. Lewis; and I thank him for reminding me of 3 of the most precious things in life:

1. Children 

The Girls

Two of my three beautiful nieces

“And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and becomeas little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.” – Matthew 18:3

Children are such a precious gift. As we spend time nurturing them we must grow to be like them. The wonderful story of children entering Narnia and becoming valiant, virtuous, and nobel Kings and Queens reminds me that it is in becoming like a child that I will  obtain my birthright of returning to the Kingdom of God to one day become a Queen myself.

2. Simplicity

Rothko

A painting by Rothko: an artist who found truth and beauty in simplicity

This book is written so simply; in a way that anyone could understand it. This has reminded me that things do not have to be complex to be glorious. Simplifying is always the answer.

3. My Savior

Savior

One of my favorite depictions of the Savior appearing to Mary Magdalene after the Resurrection

Above all, “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe” is a profound testimony of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. C.S. Lewis paints a heart-felt metaphor of the Savior’s pain in the garden and suffering on the cross through Aslan’s sacrifice for not only Edmund, but all the creatures of Narnia. He reminds us that because of the Atonement and the love of our Savior, good will ALWAYS conquer evil and spring will undoubtably come forth our of the darkest winter.

I am so grateful for my Savior and I am grateful to C.S. Lewis for finding such a creative and beautiful way to share his unwavering testimony.

To learn more about my beliefs about Jesus Christ and the Atonement, visit: lds.org or mormon.org.

Leave a Reply

